shelton picture

The Robert M. Shelton Award for Sustained Chapter Excellence is presented each year to the chapter judged as displaying exemplary service to members over a sustained period of the immediate past five years. The award, unveiled in 1979 in honor of Robert Shelton's long-standing contributions to the Association, was presented for the first time in 1980.


The purpose of this award is to recognize those chapters that demonstrate sustained excellence, over a five-year period, in the provision of services to members as established by HFMA's strategic plan.


No submission or documentation is necessary to receive this award. Chapters who have met the chapter requirements and Threshold Performance Level (TPL) as measured on the Chapter Balanced Score Card (CBSC) in each of the prior five years are eligible. Chapters who win this award are not eligible to win the award for the following five years.


There are no limits to the number of chapters that may win this award.


The chairman of the HFMA Board of Directors shall appoint a five-member committee of judges to determine award winners. This committee shall include at least three former HFMA Board chairpersons and two members representing currently ineligible winners.

Award Announcement

The winning chapter is announced and recognized at the Annual Chapter Awards Dinner during the Annual National Institute (ANI) in June.

Shelton Award Recipients

Name Year
Rochester Regional Chapter2016 
Nebraska Chapter 2015
Oregon Chapter 2014
Florida Chapter     2013
Maryland Chapter    2013
Colorado Chapter 2012
New Jersey Chapter 2011
Nebraska Chapter 2010
Hudson Valley NY Chapter 2009
Sunflower (Kansas) Chapter 2008
North Carolina Chapter 2007
Oklahoma Chapter 2006
Tennessee Chapter 2005
Iowa Chapter 2004
Eastern Michigan Chapter 2003 
Maine Chapter 2002
Appalachian Chapter of Central Pennsylvania Chapter 2001
Georgia Chapter 2000
Rochester Regional Chapter 2000
Alabama Chapter 1999
Mississippi Chapter 1998
North Carolina Chapter 1998
South Carolina Chapter 1997
Southern Illinois Chapter 1996
Georgia Chapter 1995
Alabama Chapter 1994
Northern California Chapter 1993
Georgia Chapter 1992
South Dakota Chapter 1991
Eastern Michigan Chapter 1990
Oregon Chapter 1989
South Carolina Chapter 1988
Georgia Chapter 1987
South Dakota Chapter 1986
Oregon Chapter 1985
South Carolina Chapter 1984
Tennessee Chapter 1983
Eastern Michigan Chapter 1982
Hawaii Chapter 1981
Massachusetts Chapter 1980

If you have questions or need assistance, contact Chapter Relations at
(800) 252-4362 or

Publication Date: Thursday, May 30, 2013