Iowa Awards

Check out all of the accomplishments from our members below!

Chapter/Region Success Awards

The Regional Executive Council created the Success Awards to support positive outcomes from the Chapter Success Plan.

Iowa Chapter of HFMA has won the Success Award in:

Value – 2023


Shelton Award

The Robert M. Shelton Award

The Robert M. Shelton Award for Sustained Chapter Excellence is presented each year to the chapter judged as displaying exemplary service to members over a sustained period of the immediate past five years. The award, unveiled in 1979 in honor of Robert Shelton’s long-standing contributions to the Association, was presented for the first time in 1980.

The purpose of this award is to recognize those chapters that demonstrate sustained excellence, over a five-year period, in the provision of services to members as established by HFMA’s strategic plan.

Iowa Chapter of HFMA has won the Shelton Award in;

  • 2018
  • 2004

MAP Award

MAP Award for High Performance

HFMA’s MAP Award for High Performance in Revenue Cycle recognizes organizations whose innovative and effective strategies have enabled them to achieve excellence in revenue cycle performance. There are five (5) award categories: hospitals, critical access hospitals, hospital systems, integrated delivery systems, and physician practices.

Winners excel in meeting industry standard revenue cycle benchmarks (MAP Keys), implementing the patient-centered recommendations and best practices embodied in HFMA’s Healthcare Dollars & Sense™ initiatives, and achieving outstanding patient satisfaction.

Iowa Hospitals that have won the HFMA Map Award;

2022-Critial Access Hospital

Henry County Health Center, Mt. Pleasant 

Van Diest Medical Center, Webster City

2021-Critial Access Hospital

Cass County Memorial Hospital, Atlantic

Henry County Health Center, Mt. Pleasant

Van Diest Medical Center-Webster City

2020-Critical Access Hospitals

Greater Regional Health, Creston, IA

Buena Vista Regional Medical Center, Storm Lake, IA

2019-Critical Access Hospitals

Henry County Health Center, Mount Pleasant, IA

2018-Critical Access Hospitals

Henry County Health Center, Mount Pleasant, IA


Dallas County Hospital – Perry, IA


Henry County Health Center, Mount Pleasant, IA


Henry County Health Center, Mount Pleasant, IA

Iowa Volunteer Award

Iowa HFMA Volunteer of the Year

The “Iowa HFMA Volunteer of the Year” was created in 2020 in appreciation of those members, who over their careers, have dedicated years of volunteer service to the Iowa Chapter of Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA). HFMA is an organization built on volunteers whose continual dedication is the cornerstone of the success of this organization.   This award is symbolic of the service that the recipient so generously gave to Iowa HFMA– service that reaches above and beyond expectations.  The “Iowa HFMA Volunteer of the Year” started a new tradition at Iowa HFMA of recognizing those individuals associated with Iowa HFMA who display sustained commitment and dedication to the organization.

Crystal Estabrook    2021   
Tim Huber2022

Medal of Honor Recipients

The Founders Medal of Honor

The Founders Medal of Honor is conferred by nomination of the Chapter Board of Directors.  This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has been actively involved in HFMA for at least three years after earning the Muncie Gold Award, has provided significant service at the chapter, regional and/or national level in at least two of those years, and remains a member in good standing. A chapter may nominate members for this award at any time during the year.

Gary Nielsen7/21/1993
Robert Downey8/10/1993
Ronald Timpe8/07/1996
Michael Collins5/31/1998
Joseph Corfits5/31/2000
Renee Rasmussen5/31/2007
Shaun Magill5/31/2009
Bruce Barnes5/31/2010
Stephanie Hultman5/31/2010
Susan Searcy5/31/2010
Paul Baumert5/31/2011
Randall Rubin5/31/2014
Shawn Steffen5/31/2014
Timothy Huber5/31/2014
Darren Osten5/31/2015
Deanna Gray5/31/2015
Mary Hensleyt5/31/2015
Chad Tysdahl5/31/2019
David Muhs5/31/2020
Kyle Wilcox5/31/2020
Marcus Goldenstein5/31/2020
Abbey Stangl5/31/2021
Jeremy Behrens5/31/2023
Crystal Estabrook5/31/2023

Connect with us!

Thanks to Our Platinum Sponsors!

Baird Holm logo