W. Christopher Johnson, FHFMA, received the 2017 Morgan Award at the Association’s Annual Conference in Orlando, Fla., on June 26. 

The Frederick C. Morgan Individual Achievement Award is designed to recognize a single HFMA member for outstanding contributions to the Healthcare Financial Management Association as a result of substantial activity over the course of a career.

Nomination and Submission Information - Next Due Date: February 28, 2018, 11:59 p.m.

If someone in your chapter is deserving of this award and you wish to nominate the individual, please review the instructions and complete the online nomination form. 


The judging committee considers the following criteria in determining a winner of the award from among the nominees:

  • The significance of the accomplishments and contributions of the nominee to the Healthcare Financial Management Association.
  • The extent of the service provided by the nominee to HFMA at the chapter, regional, and national levels, including awards earned.

Award Announcement

The award recipient is announced and recognized at the Annual Chair's Reception during HFMA's Annual Conference in June.

 Morgan Award Recipients

Year Name  
 2017 W. Christopher Johnson, FHFMA 
 2016 Richard D. Schrock, FHFMA, CPA, MBA
 2015  Cathy Dougherty, FHFMA
 2014  Robert L. Broadway, FHFMA
 2013  David P. Canfield, FHFMA
 2012  Neil B. Koonce, Jr.
 2011  Robert D. Miller, FHFMA 
 2010  Carolyn M. Moffitt, FHFMA  
 2009  Marianne L. Muise, FHFMA  
 2008  William J. Lubaway, FHFMA, CPA  
 2007  John P. McGuire, FHFMA, CPA
 2006  Fred J. Lucky, FHFMA
 2005  Sister Geraldine M. Hoyler, CSC, FHFMA, CPA
 2004  Ronald D. Anspaugh, FHFMA
 2003  Allan B. Hanson, FHFMA, CPA
 2002  David A. Timpe, FHFMA, CPA
 2001  John J. Dalton, FHFMA
 2000  Robert B. Taylor, Jr., FHFMA
 1999  Joanne M. Judge, FHFMA, CPA
 1998  Kenneth A. Hews, FHFMA
 1997  Bonnie L. Phipps, FHFMA, CPA
 1996  Carl H. Hitchner, FHFMA, CPA
 1995  Thomas F. McNulty, FHFMA
 1994  Soon W. Lee, FHFMA, CPA
 1993  Richard S. Blair, FHFMA, CMPA, CPA
 1992  Glenn J. Black, Jr., FHFMA
 1991  Paul M. Long, FHFMA, CPA
 1990  Herman A. Kohlman, FHFMA
 1989  Robert L. Schultze, FHFMA, CPA
 1988  Floyd A. Kinkead, FHFMA
 1987  Milan A. "Doc" Barto
 1986  Thomas F. Satterfield, FHFMA
 1985  Gerald W. Fuller, FHFMA
 1984  James T. Whitman, FHFMA, CPA
 1983  Herman H. Guenther, FHFMA
 1982  Joseph P. McCue, FHFMA, CPA
 1981  Arnold P. Silver, FHFMA, CPA
 1980  Darwin W. Schlag, Jr.,FHFMA, CPA
 1979  Fay Page Herkimer
 1978  Joseph A. Levi, FHFMA, CPA
 1977  Raymond J. Cisneros, FHFMA
 1976  Ronald R. Kovener, FHFMA
 1975  Allen G. Herkimer, FHFMA, CMPA
 1974  ----------
 1973  Charles Anderson, FHFMA
 1972  Joseph Clancy , FHFMA and Jeff Steinert, FHFMA, CMPA
 1971  Robert M. Shelton, FHFMA
 1970  Harold Hinderer, FHFMA
 1969  Benjamin O. Nelson
 1968  Raymond S. Matylewicz, FHFMA
 1967  Harold O. Humbert
 1966  Lawrence E. Martin, FHFMA
 1965  Sister Loretta Marie, CSFP, FHFMA
 1964  Ernest C. Laetz
 1963  Ray Everett, FHFMA
 1962  Sister Mary Gerald, CSC, FHFMA
 1961  C. Henry Hottum, Jr., FHFMA, CPA
 1960  John M. Stagl
 1959  Charles G. Roswell

If you have questions or need assistance, contact Patricia Kosar, Chapter Relations Specialist at (800) 252-4362, ext. 346 or pkosar@hfma.org.