Validate your expertise and demonstrate your commitment to the profession by earning an HFMA Certification.

Why get certified?

Establishing and maintaining a clear competitive edge is a prerequisite for today’s changing economy – for individuals and organizational leaders. You can gain and demonstrate your edge by enhancing your knowledge and proving proficiency with HFMA’s certification programs.  Explore and choose your area of focus from the wide-range of certification options available to you.

While membership in HFMA is not required for these certifications, except for Certified Healthcare Finance Professional, earn as many as you like when you join HFMA – they are all included with your member dues.

HFMA Certifications offer comprehensive programs that enable you to validate your expertise and demonstrate your commitment to the profession. The HFMA Certification Community is available for you to ask questions related to HFMA certification programs, network with peers, and share ideas and best practices.

HFMA Certifications

Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP)

14 CPEs

Dive into the new financial realities of health care and come up with a better business skill set, new ideas on financial strategy, and insights into future trends.

Certified Revenue Cycle Representative (CRCR)

14 CPEs

Increase your knowledge, competencies, and productivity with best-practices recommendations to positively impact the revenue cycle and enhance patient experience.

Certified Specialist Accounting & Finance (CSAF)

14 CPEs

Strengthen your skills and mastery of financial reports and statements, risk-sharing arrangements, managed care contracts, and profitability ratios.

Certified Specialist Business Intelligence (CSBI)

10 CPEs

Learn methods for looking at data and using tools to ensure the right information is illuminated and used to enable powerful actions and decisions.

Certified Specialist Managed Care (CSMC)

12 CPEs

Gain specialist-level knowledge to navigate payment models and rates, benefit coordination, reimbursement calculations, and cost-control incentives.

Certified Specialist Physician Practice Management (CSPPM)

11.5 CPEs

Demonstrate your physician practice finance, cost accounting, revenue cycle, coding, reimbursement, and payer contracting acumen

Fellow of HFMA (FHFMA)

Extend your expertise and leadership by sharing your personal financial knowledge and skills in voluntary professional development activities and services in the healthcare finance industry. 

Certified Inpatient Coding Auditor (CICA)

Effective Dec. 31, 2019, the HFMA CICA certification program has been retired and is no longer available for purchase. 

Refer to these FAQs to find out how this may affect CICA holders.

Note: If you are an HFMA member and currently registered for an HFMA certification program (expired or close to expiring) and need additional time, please email elearning@hfma.org to request an extension. 

“I chose the certification process with HFMA because it is widely accepted as the gold standard in illustrating competency in the field of healthcare finance.”

President, Memorial Physician Services