Blog | Quality Measures

CMS releases the 2021 hospital star ratings

Blog | Quality Measures

CMS releases the 2021 hospital star ratings

CMS released its list of star ratings for hospitals on the Care Compare website, providing consumers with indications of a hospital’s quality based on a five-star scale.

More than 4,500 hospitals were eligible to receive star ratings. On the far sides of the scale, 455 hospitals have five stars and 204 have only one, while nearly 1,200 were ineligible to be rated due to insufficient data on quality measures. Becker’s broke out the five-star hospitals by state.

CMS compiles the star ratings by assessing hospitals in five sets of quality measures: mortality, safety of care, readmissions, patient experience, and timeliness and effectiveness of care. Hospitals report their own data and are eligible to receive a rating if they report at least three measures in each of three or more measure groups, including either mortality or safety of care.

The star ratings reflect a hospital’s performance on those measures relative to other U.S. hospitals in a “peer group,” which is based on the number of measure sets in which a hospital reports enough data to be scored.

The American Hospital Association released a statement April 29 supporting some of the recent changes to the star-rating methodology, as established in the 2021 Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) final rule. Those alterations “have made the star ratings easier to interpret, more insightful for hospitals working to improve their quality of care, and more balanced in favor of high-priority topics, like infections,” according to the statement from Ashley Thompson, senior vice president for public policy analysis and development.

But concerns remain, including that “CMS’s failure to account for social risk factors in calculating performance on measures like readmissions biases the ratings against those hospitals caring for more vulnerable patients.”

The statement also calls for improvement in the peer-grouping approach, which was implemented in the 2021 OPPS rule.  

“Finally, and importantly, because the star ratings methodology has changed so frequently and significantly since its inception, comparing a hospital’s latest overall star rating with a previous rating could be very misleading,” Thompson said in the statement.

CMS states that consumers should consider factors aside from star ratings when choosing where to seek care, including guidance from their physician. In addition, while rates of infections and complications are included in the safety of care domain, consumers may want to pay special attention to those data and to patient survey results.

About the Author

Nick Hut

is a senior editor with HFMA, Westchester, Ill. (

Sign up for a free guest account and get access to five free articles every month.


Related Articles | Quality Measures

News | Cost Effectiveness of Health

Healthcare News of Note: Medicare would save $8 billion a year if all hospitals achieved the outcomes of the most cost-efficient performers, says Lown Institute

Healthcare News of Note for healthcare finance professionals is a roundup of recent news articles: America’s most cost-effective hospitals are identified, employers have boosted telemedicine and mental health benefits during the pandemic, and risk-based Medicare Advantage models gain popularity with health systems.

Blog | Medicare Payment and Reimbursement

Payment approaches to addressing health equity are seen in a new Medicare rule for kidney care

Updates to a Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation care model for end-stage renal disease include an equity-related bonus payment and associated changes to benchmarking.

News | Quality Measures

The impact of COVID-19 further shows the need to modify federal pay-for-performance models, hospital advocate says

Quality measures derived during the COVID-19 pandemic are not an accurate gauge of hospital performance in federal programs such as Value-Based Purchasing.

News | Telemedicine

Provider conduct could have a big impact on the future of telehealth, experts say

Widespread certification for telehealth could encourage policymakers to retain the waivers that have promoted expanded virtual access, industry experts say.