Metropolitan New York Awards

Chapter Life Membership

Chapter Life Membership is conferred on a member to recognize outstanding accomplishments and contributions to a chapter. The Metropolitan New York Chapter is honored to have the National Lifetime Memberships conferred upon the recognized members below.

  • Steven M. Cohen 2019
  • Ignatius Giacalone 2018
  • Jeffrey Blumengold 2018
  • James Petty 2018
  • Steve Gurtman 2017
  • Charles Pendola 2017
  • John Mertz 2017
  • Jane Jackson-Clayton 2015
  • Kevin Lawlor 2014
  • Joseph Quagliata 2013
  • Peter Siriani 2011
  • Peter Levitan 2004
  • Ted Meroe 2002
  • Thomas Egan 1998
  • Anthony Heckel 1994

Individual Awards

Founders Merit Award Series

Is a series of awards that have been established to “Recognize the Volunteer in You.” This series rewards the individual member for volunteer activity on the local, regional and national level. This system has been established to promote continuous active participation in HFMA

  • The William G. Follmer Bronze Award
    The award was named after William G. Follmer, who is credited with the creation of the American Association of Hospital Accountants (AAHA) which is now HFMA.
    The award is granted after an individual has earned 25 member points.
  • The Robert H. Reeves Silver Award
    The award was named after Robert Reeves who was an organizing member of the AAHA, was elected president of AAHA in 1956 and was instrumental in creating the structure of AAHA. The award is granted after an individual has earned 59 member points.
  • The Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award
    The award honors Frederick T. Muncie, an organizing member of the AAHA, and the first president of the association (1947-1949). Muncie also assisted in the organization of the first AAHA chapter (First Illinois)
  • The Founders Medal of Honor
    This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has been actively involved in HFMA for at least three years after earning the Muncie Gold Award, has provided significant service at the chapter, regional and or national level in at least two of those years and remains a member in good standing. The award is conferred on the recommendation of the chapter’s board of directors.
  • Stephen A. Ryan Memorial Award
    This award is presented by the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan New York Chapter to and individual who has excelled in his or her work for the Chapter and or has made a significant contribution in the financial field or healthcare management.
  • Frederick C. Morgan Individual Achievement Award
    This award was designed to recognize a single HFMA member for outstanding contribution to the Healthcare Financial Management Association as a result of substantial activity over the course of a career.

Chapter Awards

The Robert M. Shelton Award for Sustained Chapter Excellence
This award is presented each year to a chapter judged as displaying exemplary service to members over a sustained period of the immediate past five years.The Helen M. Yerger Award
This award recognized outstanding chapter performance in categories of Collaboration, Education, Improvement, Innovation, Member Communications, Member Service, and Membership Recruitment and Retention.

  • Education
    Recognizes a singular educational program.
  • Member Communication
    Recognizes a chapter’s overall member communications program, including newsletters, news briefs, hotline, audio/video and electronic communications.
  • Membership Recruitment and Retention
    Recognizes the plan, process, results and innovation of the chapter’s membership recruitment and retention process.
  • Collaboration
    Recognizes a collaborative effort with another organization outside of HFMA.
  • Innovation
    Recognizes an innovative program, service or project
  • Member Service
    Recognizes excellence and results in a singular program, service or project.
  • Improvement
    Recognizes significant improvement in a program, service, project or overall chapter efforts.

Awards of Excellence

This award recognizes chapters who have achieved outstanding performance in the areas of education, certification and membership growth and retention.

  • Awards of Excellence for Education
    Recognizes chapters that achieve outstanding performance in educational programming.
  • Awards of Excellence for Certification
    Recognizes chapters that achieve outstanding performance in certification support. The honor is based on an increase in the number of chapter members who pass a certification examination in the chapter year.
  • Awards of Excellence for Membership Growth and Retention
    Recognizes chapters that achieve outstanding performance in membership growth and retention. The honor is based on the percent of net membership growth at the end of the chapter year.The C. Henry Hottum Award for Educational Performance Improvement
    Recognizes chapters that achieve a significant increase in educational performance from one year to the next. The award is based on exceptional growth in registrant hours over the last year.

Connect with us!