Connect with us!

Southern California Chapter Leadership


Stanley Augustine

President & President-Elect

Hardesty Healthcare Solutions

Gretchen Works

Immediate Past-President

Progressive Management Systems

Shivam Karla 


Sarah Christiansen


Brian Mattson

Vice President - Programs

Manifest Medex


Sri Bharadwaj

Board Member - Membership

Franciscan Health Information Services

Jeff Helton

Board Member - Certification

Denver Business School at University of Colorado Denver

Stanley Augustine

Board Member - Sponsorship

Matt Logan

Board Member - Event Registration (Cvent)

Collection Consultants of California

Kathy Hammack

Board Advisor

Sam King

Board Member - Past Presidents Counsel

Certification Committee

Jeff Helton  

Responsible for assisting Chapter members in preparation for HFMA certification exams. The exams assume and test for an advance core level of professional competence in healthcare financial management overall plus individual specialty areas of Accounting, Finance, Financial Management of Physician Practices, Managed Care and Patient Financial Services. Committee members are required to possess current HFMA certification, and as such are eligible to serve as exam proctors.

CFO Roundtable / Finance

Eric Delgado, FHFMA

Ensure the educational and networking needs of the Senior Financial Executives of the chapter are met through educational programs or networking events. Assist the membership committee in meeting National goals of SFE membership.

Fall Conference

Stan Augustine

Founders Points Contact

Brad Nielsen

In each chapter the Founders Points Coordinator works to document the contributions of members who volunteer their time to the chapter so they earn Founders Awards. Founders Points are also applicable to those who are progressing to their FHFMA status.

Marketing & Communications

Karla Llausas

The Marketing & Communications Committee is responsible for the chapter's email marketing, social media, and website.

Member General Contact

Membership Committee

Joe Avelino, RN, BSN, MHSA, CPHQ

This committee is charged with building the Chapter's membership through new member recruiting and member retention. Helps coordination of new member welcome packets, makes new members feel welcome and helps ensure member satisfaction.

​Program Planning

Brian Mattson

(818) 865-1716

This committee is responsible for planning and coordinating the three annual Chapter educational seminars including general sessions/keynote speakers, site arrangements, creation/distribution of the brochure, assisting with registration and tracking evaluations.

Region 11 Symposium

​Sam King

Gretchen Works

Stan Augustine

​This committee is responsible for all facets of planning, organizing and developing the Region 11 Symposium, held annually during January, either as the lead chapter or one of the co-leads.

Revenue Cycle & Managed Care Committees

Brad Nielsen

This committee shares overall responsibility for developing, planning, producing and presenting a series of educational seminars (tracks) to satisfy the professional education and development needs of Chapter members with an interest in PFS and Compliance.

Sponsorship Committee

Brian Guerra

Sponsorship Committee is responsible for obtaining financial support for the chapter from vendors serving the healthcare industry. The support gathered is used to fund overall chapter expenses during the course of the year

Student Recruitment

​Work with Faculty Advisors to inform/recruit students at the Master's Level Health or Business Programs at various Southern California universities. Bring in chapter members to speak to students on healthcare careers and issues. 


Brian J Mattson

(818) 865-1716

Coordinates the maintenance of the chapter website.

Name Term  
Gretchen Works 2020-2022
Gina Churchill  2019-2020
Sam King, FHFMA 2018-2019 
Joe Perry 2017-2018
Brian J. Mattson 2016-2017
Frank Matricardi, DrPH 2015-2016
Mary (Kathy) Hammack, FHFMA       2014-2015
James Moynihan, FHFMA, MBA 2013-2014
Scott Ujita 2012-2013
Steven R. Blake, FHFMA, CPA 2011-2012
Christopher Kinsey 2010-2011
Rick Lash 2009-2010
James Cummings 2008-2009
Debby Chanen, FHFMA 2007-2008
Greg Labow, FHFMA 2006-2007
Wayne Knecht 2005-2006
Gordon M. Johnson, FHFMA 2004-2005
Ira L. Alexander 2003-2004
Susan M. Labow 2002-2003
Nancy H. Sussin 2001-2002
Victoria Morgan, FHFMA 2000-2001
Robert A. Oehlman 1999-2000
W. Russel Blackford, CPA, CMCP 1998-1999
Gerti Regan, CPA, CMPA 1997-1998
James S. Stewart 1996-1997
George Colman, Esq. 1995-1996
David Canfield, FHFMA 1994-1995
Robert C. Boullon, FHFMA 1993-1994
Joanette M. deSousa 1992-1993
Ronald D. Spoltore, CPA 1991-1992
Steven C. Holman, CPA, FHFMA 1990-1991
Eleanor Feltman 1989-1990
Alan M. Ino 1988-1989
Kenneth C. Barth, FHFMA 1987-1988
Edward M. Prunchunas, FHFMA 1986-1987
Allen G. Herkimer, Jr., FHFMA 1985-1986
Keith Deisenroth 1984-1985
Glen I. Kazahaya 1983-1984
Christine L. Yount 1982-1983
Fred E. Luhman, CPA 1981-1982
Don Shinnick, CMPA 1980-1981
Doris E. Syme 1979-1980
John M. McGee 1978-1979
Albert L. Peitte 1977-1978
Lawrence G. Hixon 1976-1977
R. Carleton Tufts, Jr. 1975-1976
John M. Johnston 1974-1975
Frank F. Dupper 1973-1974
Rowland D. Hill 1972-1973
Keith F. Adams 1971-1972
John McClurg 1970-1971
Crawford R. Hardy 1969-1970
Robert J. Samsel 1968-1969
Frank T. Murphy 1967-1968
Ranney G. Adams 1966-1967
Richard H. Wehmeyer 1965-1966
Maurice M. Luther 1964-1965
Norman E. Pechota 1963-1964
George W. Mohler 1962-1963
Joe Ryan 1961-1962
Leonard Sine 1959-1961
Richard Roth 1958-1959
Carl Gottschalk 1957-1958
John Gorby 1955-1957
William Cruse 1954-1955
Howard Hatfield 1953-1954