Georgia Volunteer Opportunities

The Georgia Chapter is always seeking volunteers to help continue our path to success. As a volunteer with the Georgia HFMA, you will find that your efforts reward you in many different ways both professionally and personally. Our goal is to always provide top level educational content to our membership during our two institutes and multiple webinars, forums and networking events hosted throughout the year. There are many benefits to volunteering for Georgia HFMA, and identifying the right role that suits your time constraints is an easy task. You’ll be glad that you got involved and assisted in making a positive impact to yourself and our members.

Benefits of Volunteering:

  • Strengthen your existing network and relationships
  • Professional growth and development
  • Meet new people, expand your network
  • Boosting social skills
  • Finding out you are good at things you never knew about
  • Demonstrating your ability and skills
  • Making a positive impact to our membership
  • Earning Founder’s Points to gain Advanced Membership status in HFMA

We have multiple roles that can easily be accomplished remotely and in-person. Don’t let travel budgets get in the way of your ability to volunteer. Let’s find your fit today and get you involved to satisfy your needs as a healthcare professional. Review the Committee List below and contact us ([email protected]) so we can discuss the area(s) that interest you the most.

Thank you for your consideration to be a volunteer with Georgia HFMA.

Warmest regards,

Eric Bergeon

2022-2023 Georgia HFMA Chapter President 

Led by: Laurie Heavey

  • Public Relations Committee – Promote GA HFMA, including content development and publication of weekly email updates
  • Social Media Committee – Lead chapter strategy for member engagement through social media.
  • Chapter Photographer – Capture pictures of GA HFMA Chapter activities 

Led by: Ashley Hill

  • Education Content – Plan/administer multi-day Institute education and One day Summit events
  • Education Logistics – Plan/administer Institute and One day Summit events, including food/entertainment
  • Registration Committee – Administer pre-registration & on-site registration for events

Led by: Andrea Mejia

  • Revenue Cycle Forum – Plan/administer workshops throughout the state (Northern and Southern regions will be maintained with duplicative programs). Plan/administer webinars (workshops and CPAR classes). Plan/administer the logistics of the Forums Workshops, including on-site locations & webinars
  • C.A.R.E. (Compliance, Audit, Risk and Ethics) Committee – Plan/administer workshops throughout the state and/or at the quarterly Institutes
  • Webinars – Plan and coordinates quality content in regularly scheduled webinars for state and national participants, including one regional webinar 

Led by: Derek Dudley 

  • Advanced CPAR Committee – Plan/administer educational offerings, update content, and maintain database
  • CPAR Committee – Plan/administer coaching, testing, and awards banquet, as well as maintain reference manual and database
  • National HFMA Certification – Plan/facilitate HFMA’s certification coaching and recognition events for certified members 

Led by: Matt Fisher

  • Membership Committee – Plan/administer membership recruitment and retention programs. Update/distribute annual membership directory
  • Mentoring Program Committee – Create and implement a mentoring program for members interested in becoming more involved in the chapter, including mentoring new members, current and future leaders of the Chapter
  • Enterprise Members – Coordinate with Enterprise Member liaisons to deliver targeted education and value to members associated with HFMA through their Enterprise Membership program 

Led by: Nick Townsend

  • Organizational Outreach Committee – Solicit/plan/administer events with other organizations, etc. with fellow professional organizations and other organizations. Solicit/plan/administer events with other organizations, FACHE, GHA, MGMA, academia etc
  • Federal and State Issues Committee – Increase influence on Federal and State legislative/regulatory policy of HFMA/GA HFMA
  • Early Careerist Committee – Identify and engage current members and potential new members who are early in their healthcare career

Led by: Jason Ashley 

  • Networking Events
  • Educational Events
  • Other Committee Events – Works alongside all committees of the chapter to deliver innovative ideas to events.


These are the committees defined within Georgia Healthcare Financial Management Association. Click the committee name to see a list of committee members. 

  • Laurence Harris
  • Amy Pisciotta
  • Matthew Fisher
  • Doug Kennedy
  • Sarah Krug
  • Gina Smith
  • Denise Tobin
  • Brett Rose
  • Angela A Musey
  • Robert Shepard
  • Laura Holland
  • Agate Monica
  • LeAnn Klinger
  • Patty Holden
  • Matthew Atkins
  • Sophie Lee
  • Ava Bowden
  • William Eikost
  • Anne Campbell
  • Lillian Kloock
  • Laurie Leonard
  • Buddy Smith
  • Sepideh Browning
  • Laurie Heavey
  • Dorothy D Steed
  • Jacqueline Massey
  • William Gosnell
  • Richard Cheek
  • Karlene Dittrich
  • Shawn J McBride
  • Robert Mundy
  • Paul Murphy
  • Brandy Seats
  • Diana Sessions
  • Elizabeth Ward
  • Dave Young
  • Elizabeth Richards
  • William Eikost
  • John Lloyd CRCR, CHFP
  • Starla Smith
  • Heather Wolf
  • Angie Connatser
  • Jamie H Lloyd
  • Brian Patterson
  • Monica Agate
  • Nancy Baker
  • Clarice Cable
  • Franklin Harris
  • Ally Pridgen
  • Brian Patterson
  • Laurence Harris
  • Greg Fortgang
  • Jessica Carter
  • Shawn J McBride
  • Ally Pridgen

Connect with us!

Disrupt the Disruption

– Eric Bergeon, Chapter President 2022-2023