Metropolitan Philadelphia Chapter

President’s Welcome

It is an honor and privilege to begin a new HFMA year as your chapter President. I am thankful for the opportunity to represent a chapter comprised of so many exceptional leaders and together with close to our 2000 members, make this an outstanding chapter! 

Read more below!

Greetings Metro Philadelphia HFMA members! Like many of you, I’m looking forward to turning the calendar to March and the start of Spring, St. Patrick’s Day and Baseball season! I’m happy to report that we had a very successful Healthcare 101 event on February 16th at KPMG’s office in Philadelphia where the highlight of the afternoon was a panel discussion made up of area health system leaders who shared their knowledge and experience with the attendees. I’d like to thank Steven Honeywell who moderated the panel and our panelists Mike Rossi, Philip Ryan, Donna Wright and Desiree Medina for all their time and effort! I’d also like to thank members of our Healthcare 101 Committee, Kristen Alwine, Terri Donohue and Julia Cascerceri for doing a great job planning the event and the co-chairs of several of our core chapter committees, including Cassidy Cruz, Denny Henderson, Kristen Weetenkamp, Amanda Buirge and Jonathan Pierce, who discussed the purpose and roles of their committees. It was nice to see so many early careerists and new HFMA members in attendance that day and I look forward to seeing many of you at several of our future events.

We have several excellent in-person events planned for the Spring, including our annual Spring Institute on Friday, March 24th at the Bellevue Hotel in Philadelphia. The highlight of the morning session will be our CEO Keynote address from Dr. Joseph Cacchione, CEO of Jefferson Health. The session will go from 8:00AM to 4:30PM with a networking reception to follow at Ladder 15.  

You can register for the Spring Institute using the following link.

In addition to these events, please SAVE THE DATE and join us at our other upcoming education sessions in 2023, including:

  • Data Analytics Seminar – April 28, 2023 – KPMG, Philadelphia, PA
  • Annual Women’s Event – May 4, 2023 – City Winery, Philadelphia, PA
  • Virtual Accounting and Auditing Seminar – May 18, 2023
  • Annual Golf Outing – May 25, 2023 – Paxon Hollow Country Club, Media, PA

Finally, it is that time of year again when your chapter leaders have recommended new leaders to guide the chapter forward in the coming years. Thanks to all the members who have already voted and if you haven’t voted yet, please look for the email from the Association which includes the chapter ballot for the 2023-2024 chapter year and record your vote.

As always, thank you for your support of this great chapter. Please don’t hesitate to contact me or any of the chapter board members with any feedback on how we can make our chapter work for you!

Al Deana

President, Metro-Philadelphia Chapter

This year I had the pleasure of hosting the Annual Past President’s Dinner on May 11th at Davio’s King of Prussia. This great traditional dinner gathers Past Presidents of the Chapter along with current Officers and Board Members. We were honored to have seventeen past presidents attend as well as Kevin Brennan and Joanne Judge, former HFMA National Chairs, and Mike McKeever, past president of the New Jersey Chapter and current HFMA regional executive for our region. Thomas Heron (1991-1992) was the earliest past president to join us. Chris Niwinski, who served as President during the 2020-2021 Chapter Year, presided over the Installation of New Officers and Board Members for the 2022-2023 Chapter Year.

The dinner is always filled with lots of laughs, stories and great memories from our past presidents and it was extra special that we could finally get together as a group after a three-year hiatus. Amidst the laughter, we also took the time to acknowledge the recent passing of Burt Church (1978-1979) and to remember how much he enjoyed this annual gathering. I also had the honor of presenting Chapter awards to several of our guests. Kevin Brennan received the 2020 Soon Lee Education Award. Joanne Judge received the 2020 Annual Achievement Award and Guy Hoffman received the 2022 Benjamin Franklin Award. Danielle LaBraico, who was not able to make the dinner, received the 2021 Edward Mallon Outstanding Member Award. The great atmosphere and camaraderie in the room was a great reminder to the newer members of the board of what it truly means to be a member/volunteer of this chapter.

Anne DelPizzo (2019-2020) captured some great pictures of the evening:


Looking forward to next year’s event,

Al Deana

Connect with us!